Getting into the ‘swim’ of things

Swim by Jaypeg, on FlickrCreative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.0 Generic License   by  Jaypeg 

I mean ‘swing’ of things…

I am writing this blog at the end of my seventh day of prac and happy to report that I finally feel as though I’m in the ‘swing’ of things. I’ve got the kids names down pat and I’ve formed some strong relationships.

Last week, on my second day of prac, swimming started and as the day was hot it was a blessing to get in the pool. This week, although the sun was out the wind was up and it was very chilly outside the water. I felt sorry for the poor little preppies who concoured on despite their quivering blue lips. My mentor was a little worried about me taking a class after swimming as she thought her class might be tired, excited and exhausted, but I managed to pull off a really successful history lesson!

Thus far I’ve taken two not so successful Math lessons, one rather successful English lesson, and a very successful history lesson. I’ve also had the opportunity to take small group activities during rotations. Despite my unease with ICT, I have managed to incorporate some into these lessons by including a power point presentation for math and history and using the the iPad for a small math group. By reflecting on these lessons I realise that my ICT use still resides in the enhancement phase of the SAMR model and I am still trying to work out how to transform my teaching in a prep classroom using these tools? Perhaps using the interactive feature of the whiteboard might help me out? Must get out of my comfort zone and give it a go.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Prac Reflections Day 6! | Using ICT in Early Childhood

Leave a comment